Time For Inspiration And Imagination!

“So, what’s been happening in the world of Whimsy Wood this week?” I hear you ask. Well now that book 7, ‘Posie Pixie And The Pancakes’, is going through its proofing run at the print company, things have been a little calmer and quieter. In fact, it’s been rather wonderful to be able to get back to writing more whimsical stories for my 35-book Whimsy Wood series! I have already written up to book 14, however there’s always room for tweaking, re-writing and editing of previously written manuscripts, as well as creating new stories for the remaining books. My series is divided into 5 sets each containing 7 books you see, so with book 7 nearing its publication date, we are coming to the end of the 1st Whimsy Wood set. I feel a real sense of sadness as we say “Goodbye” to ‘Posie Pixie’, my main character for books 1-7, but don’t fret too much. . . .she’ll be back later on in the series!! πŸ˜‰

Now folk often ask me where I get my inspiration for my woodland-based children’s books. My reply is that I research woodland blogs and websites for intriguing information and nature-related flora and fauna that spark my creative juices! One such brilliant example is the brimstone butterfly! I had never heard of this charming creature prior to changing my career from Veterinary Surgeon to children’s author. Shame on me! The name of this beautiful butterfly was enough to make me say, “Now that wee thing definitely needs to appear in a Whimsy Wood book!”

Beautiful Brimstone Butterfly! :)
Beautiful Brimstone Butterfly! πŸ™‚

However, it may not just be the name of something that triggers my imagination. It can be a yummy, scrummy image such as this :-

Uber cute baby Blue-Tit!
Uber cute baby Blue-Tit!

I happen to love alliteration, so seeing this baby Blue-tit picture made me squeak with delight at its utter cuteness and the repetition of the letter ‘b’! Sometimes it can really be that simple! My whimsical stories also have proverbs tucked away in them for the reader to find, giving them real meaning. There are over 400 proverbs in the English language, so I have a fair few to choose from for inspiration!

All this talk of imagination and inspiration has reminded me that I really must get on and create some more whimsical stories, or my series will never be finished and that just wont do! Now before I go, I must tell you thatΒ ‘Posie Pixie And The Pancakes’ will be launched on Saturday June the 27th, at The White Horse Book Shop in Marlborough, Wiltshire from 2.30-5.30pm. There’ll be colouring-in competitions for under 5s and over 5s. Winners of each category will receive signed copies of all of the 7 books in this 1st Whimsy Wood set! Wow! I’ll also be reading book 7, ‘Posie Pixie And The Pancakes’, during the launch if you’d like to drop in and have a listen to the whimsical woodland voices! πŸ™‚

For more information regarding this book launch and to keep up-to-date with Whimsy Wood developments, then please visit our Whimsy Wood page and like it if you do πŸ˜‰ Thank you πŸ™‚Β https://www.facebook.com/WhimsyWoodSeries?ref=hl

Whimsical wishes,

Sarah Hill, children’s author and creator of the Whimsy Wood Series

Leave a Reply

